Thoughts on Artistic Process

Sometimes in the artistic process I find that what I’m going for gets away from me.  I set out with something in mind, and I may even like several steps along the way, and then before I can stop the momentum, I’ve lost it altogether.  I’m in the practice of photographing some of my work as it’s in progress, and sometimes when I revisit it I find something that moves me.  These are moments of simple satisfaction.

 

“All pleasures are born out of some sort of communion…

it is always what bounds or limits a thing that gives it its character,

precision, distinctness, perfection.

It is what isolates it, encompasses it, separates it from the rest,

encloses it within itself and leads it back to itself.

Thereby it subsists, is distinct, is known…”

Joseph Joubert

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Artistic Process”

Leave a Reply

