Wings to Fly – Friday Fictioneers

This is my first attempt at Friday Fictioneers and it was an interesting picture prompt for sure!  Who doesn’t love the Damselfly?

Wings to Fly

by

Holly Suzanne

All around me water rushes by, filling the air with a charge and leaving goosebumps on my skin. I sit and soak it in- the echo of what used to be, wishing I didn’t have to be a grown up responsible for my own life. Perched on this rock, the familiar lullaby of my birthplace rings out, and I feel a strange melancholy.  I can never return home. Truth be told, I’m not sure I want to even if I could.  So I sit, soothed by the familiarity of my youth, gathering the courage to try my wings.

20 thoughts on “Wings to Fly – Friday Fictioneers”

    1. That’s quite a compliment, Tari. I’m enjoying your blog as well. I could really resonate with your desires for children and the sense of satisfaction in seeing a daughter grow to exhibit these qualities. That is a true gift indeed! -enjoy the day.

  1. I can’t tell whether you are speaking in the voice of the damselfly or a person whose thoughts are evoked by the seeing the damselfly. Or both? Lovely in any case.

      1. Isn’t it great when your intent is realized without any explanations? That, to me is an important measure (THE measure?) of a successful piece. Congratulations!

  2. This resonates with me. I could not wait to grow up and when I did, I hated the responsibilities attached to adulthood. Nicely done.
    I’m #2 on the list.

Leave a Reply

