A New Series in The Making: Meditating Possibilities

IMG_6427
Meditating Possibilities # 2
Graphite on Paper
9″ x 12″
Holly Suzanne , December 2012

"Meditating

IMG_6421Meditating Realities # 1
Graphite on Paper
9″ x 12″
Holly Suzanne, December  2012

IMG_6428

Meditating Possibilities # 3

Holly Suzanne, 2012

As some of my readers have noted, I’ve been waiting for some kind of inspiration as of late, feeling bogged down and bound up with a long Christmas list of to-do”s. Typically,  when this happens I find myself day dreaming, gazing, reading, or honestly DOING anything that isn’t directly creative in a zombie like procrastinating state,  but thankfully,  this is lifting, thanks in part to my husband who just happened to place one of my hats atop a Buddha statue  that sits atop our built in buffet in the dining room.  Often over the past few days, I’ve  found myself gazing at it, captivated by the transformative reality the small hat claims,  and so it was that yesterday I decided to play dress up so to speak with various hats from our wardrobe.  In my dress series, I engaged the idea of identity via style and fashion particularly related to gender, but this dressing strikes me in another way.  The Buddha statue adorned with various hats is an odd juxtaposition of physical and spiritual dimensions.  It reminds me so of a phrase I read long ago as part of an essay on Liberation Theology that encouraged a spirituality where one’s “feet are planted in mid-air” (author unknown).  In an odd way these works remind me of that.  We are living after all,  bound to our bodies, our vulnerabilities, our lives, and yet to transcend these things, to meditate and find peace requires a meditative other wordly stance often referred to as meditation.  This is something I think of often, seeking to find balance in my life.  In this case it appears, at least for the time being in this new series.  

To see a book of the dress series with paintings by me and poetry by Nathan Filbert please visit:  Paper Dolls: A Dress Series in Paint and Poetry

2 thoughts on “A New Series in The Making: Meditating Possibilities”

Leave a Reply

